It might seem overwhelming when you begin to look into getting your Texas Concealed Handgun License. The Texas DPS CHL Division has some very good information available online, but its alot of information to take in at once.
We have made this “cheat sheet” to help you in your journey to obtain your license. You can take your Houston CHL Class up to six months in advance to having a completed application on file with the DPS, but we recommend you start buy applying online with the DPS first. This will help you become more informed, and by taking a look around the DPS website you will have a better idea of what you are hearing when you do decide to take your CHL Houston Class.
To qualify for a Texas CHL you must:
- Be 21 years old. (Members and former members of the armed forces must be at least 18.)
- Have a clean criminal history, which includes prior military service and recent juvenile records.
- You cannot be under a protective order.
- You must not be chemically dependent.
- You must not be of unsound mind.
- You can not be delinquent in paying fines, fees, child support, etc.
- You must be eligible to purchase a handgun by completing the NICS check.
- You must complete required training.
More information on the specifics of qualifying are available on the DPS Concealed Handgun License site.
Applying for the License
There are two steps related to the application process, taking a training course and completing an application.
- Taking a Training Course
- First, find a DPS Qualified Instructor. Try visiting www.houstongunclass.com to sign up!
- Next, you must take the training course. It will require 10 to 15 hours, and includes a written examination and a shooting practical. You must pass each with a score of 70% or better.
- The written exam covers law, nonviolent conflict resolution, and handgun use and storage. It is not mainly about shooting. You must have a basic knowledge of handguns, both their safe storage and handling, and be able to load your own magazine, and safely operate the handgun.
- The shooting practical requires you to fire fifty rounds from a handgun of .32 caliber or greater, including 20 shots at three yards, 20 at seven yards, and 10 a fifteen yards. If you shoot a semiauto you will be able to carry any legal handgun. If you qualify with a revolver you will be able to carry any handgun, including a revolver or derringer, except for a semiauto.
- After you pass both tests the instructor will make two copies of Form CHL-100, which you must both sign. You will get one of them to mail in with the supplementary forms to your application.
We can get you set up with a class in a DEDICATED CHL CLASSROOM. This means you wont be taking you class in a strangers house, or even worse inviting 10 or more strangers into your own home for 10+ Hours. You also will not be taking your class in a motel lobby, buffet banquet room, or any other small area that was probably hosting bingo night only hours before your class.
We live eat and breathe firearms and concealed carry 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, right here in our Houston Gun Shop. Our classroom is taught by a certified instructor, who deals directly with firearms the other 6 day per week he isnt teaching class! No “tactical shoe salesman” here! We do our class every weekend! Get signed up today!
If you are not licensed to carry a firearm, you are choosing not to take part in a freedom the State of Texas Constitution, and the 2nd Amendment to the Constitution of the United States of America give you as a free citizen! Dont wait until after something has happened to you, a loved one, friend, co-worker, or neighbor to finally decide to sign-up for the class! Get signed up today!